After the migration of millions of users to Telegram and Signal by the WhatsApp updates that would give a large amount of information to the companies of Facebook, Mark Zuckerberg’s courier has gone out to clear up some “misunderstandings”.
Through your Twitter account, WhatsApp shared a new section in its FAQ, where clarifies some aspects of the privacy of its users.
“We want to address some rumors and be 100% clear, we continue to protect your private messages with end-to-end encryption“, Said the company.
In accordance with the new informational section on security and privacy, Zuckerberg’s platform says the data update does not affect message privacy in any way possible. Instead, this renewal includes changes related to a company’s messaging on WhatsApp, which is optional and provides greater transparency about the collection and use of data.
In other words, WhatsApp ensures that with the recent terms and conditions of its service:
– WhatsApp cannot see your private messages or listen to your calls; neither does Facebook
– WhatsApp cannot see or share your location; neither can Facebook
– WhatsApp groups are kept private
– WhatsApp does not share your contacts with Facebook
– WhatsApp does not keep logs of who everyone is texting or calling
– Users can download their data
– Users can schedule their messages to be deleted automatically
In that sense, he points out that anything that netizens share stays only between them, because the Personal messages are protected with end-to-end encryption.
In this way, when someone sends their location to another person, it is protected by encryption, which means that no one except the one who received the address can see it.
As well ensure that they do not keep data of messages and callsas they believe that the logs of 2 million users would be a risk to both privacy and security, so they do not.
Regarding the contacts, they point out that: “when you give us permission, We access only the phone numbers in your address book for fast and reliable messaging, and we do not share your contact lists with the other applications offered by Facebook.”.
Furthermore, it says that to give users additional privacy, they can choose to have their messages disappear from chats after they were sent by choosing this option in your settings.
On the other hand, they ensure that each person can download and see the information that the application has on their account.
The clarifications arose after WhatsApp sent to the main screen of all its users the warning that As of February 8, all the terms and conditions of the service would change, pointing out three main changes in:
– “The WhatsApp service and how we treat your data.”
– “How companies can use Facebook’s hosted services to store and manage their WhatsApp chats.”
– “How we partner with Facebook to offer integrations into Facebook companies’ products.”
Although WhatsApp has just included clarifications, the terms and conditions indicate that from now on the platform will share user information with Facebook companies for commercial purposes.